Calendar 2016-2018

2016

Summer Session I Monday–Tuesday May 23–July 5
Memorial Day (holiday) Monday May 30
Independence Day (holiday) Monday July 4
Legislative Day Tuesday July 5 (classes meet on a Monday schedule)
Summer Session II Wednesday–Tuesday July 6–August 16
Labor Day (holiday) Monday September 5
Fall term begins Tuesday September 6
Last day to add a course Monday September 19
Last day to drop a course without a “W” Monday September 19
No classes scheduled Monday October 10
Last day for filing or revoking Pass/Fail option Monday November 7
Last day for withdrawing from a course (with a “W”)MondayNovember 7
Midterm grades due Monday November 7
Thanksgiving recess Wednesday–Sunday November 23–27
Legislative Day Tuesday December 13 (classes meet on a Monday schedule)
Last day of classes Friday December 16
Fall term final examinations Monday–Friday December 19–23

2017

Winter recess Saturday–Monday December 24–January 2
January Term 2017 classes begin   Tuesday January 3
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (holiday) Monday January 16
January Term 2017 classes end Friday January 20
Spring term begins Monday January 23
Last day to add a course Monday February 6
Last day to drop a course without a “W” Monday February 6
Presidents' Day (holiday) Monday February 20
Spring recess Monday–Sunday March 13–19
Last day for filing or revoking Pass/Fail option Friday March 31
Last day for withdrawing from a course (with a “W”) Friday March 31
Last day of classes Monday May 8
Reading day Tuesday May 9
Spring term final examinations Wednesday–Tuesday May 10–16
Commencement: conferring of degrees Wednesday May 17 (tentative)
Summer Session I Monday-Monday May 22–July 3
Memorial Day (holiday) Monday May 29
Independence Day (holiday) Tuesday July 4
Summer Session II Wednesday–Tuesday July 5–August 15

Additional Important Calendar Dates

For tuition and fees refund schedules, see under “refund period schedule” in the tuition, expenses, and financial aid section of this Bulletin. Students should also consult the refund schedules posted at www.nyu.edu/bursar.

For registration and drop/add schedules, consult www.nyu.edu/registrar and also the College Advising Center, Silver Center, 100 Washington Square East, Room 905; 212-998-8130.